Sources: thefloridasource.com launch content + Florida This Month (Nov 2026)
All sources were checked live on October 25, 2026. Re-check anything dated before you publish, and again before each monthly issue. You can also publish this file as a public /sources/ page; the answer pages link to it.
Weather / climate / seasons
- Florida Climate Center (FSU), Daytona Beach 1991–2020 normals (monthly highs, lows and rain; 51.25 in. annual): https://climatecenter.fsu.edu/products-services/data/1991-2020-normals/daytona-beach
- NOAA hurricane season, June 1–Nov 30: https://www.noaa.gov/prepare-before-hurricane-season · NHC climatology: https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/climo/
- Volusia sea turtle beachfront lighting season, May 1–Oct 31: https://www.volusia.org/services/growth-and-resource-management/environmental-management/sustainability-and-resilience/sea-turtles/beachfront-lighting-information.stml
- Daylight saving time ends on the first Sunday in November (Nov 1, 2026), per federal law 15 U.S.C. 260a: https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/15/260a
- NOAA tide station 8721120 (Daytona Beach Shores): https://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/stationhome.html?id=8721120
Beach driving & parking (Volusia)
- Volusia County Beach Driving & Parking. Visitor fees: $30/day or $150 annual on-beach (effective 10/1/24); $20/day or $100 annual off-beach (effective 1/1/25). Residents register free. Inlet parks $10/day or $20 annual. Disabled-documentation access at no cost. Non-residents get one vehicle per pass. More than 60 off-beach lots. Headlights on, a front window open. Municipal lots where ParkVolusia permits aren’t valid: 27th Street, Flagler Ave and Esther St Oceanfront Parks (NSB) and Breakers Oceanfront Park (Daytona). ParkVolusia 24/7 line 386-260-1482: https://www.volusia.org/services/public-protection/beach-safety/beach-driving-and-parking.stml
- ParkVolusia beach parking (hours: May 1–Oct 31, 8 a.m.–7 p.m. or sundown; Nov 1–Apr 30, sunrise–sunset; tides permitting; ramps in Daytona, NSB, Ormond, Ponce Inlet; no front-elevated vehicles over 4 in.; day-pass re-entry): https://www.parkvolusia.org/beach-parking · FAQs: https://www.parkvolusia.org/faqs
- Volusia beach rules (10 mph, fines from $116; no texting; no parking in front of Sun Splash, Frank Rendon or Flagler Ave parks; no alcohol or glass; dogs only in designated areas; music 50 ft; Beach Safety 386-239-7873): https://www.volusia.org/services/public-protection/beach-safety/beach-rules.stml
- Volusia beach warning flags: https://www.volusia.org/services/public-protection/beach-safety/beach-warning-flags.stml
- Visit New Smyrna Beach, parking/driving/beach access (designated driving areas, non-driving zones, app ramp status): https://www.visitnsbfl.com/parking-lots-driving-beach-access
Manatees / springs / parks
- Blue Spring State Park (2100 W. French Ave., Orange City FL 32763; 386-775-3663; 8 a.m.–sunset, 365 days; 72°F spring; record 729 manatees in 2023; frequently reaches capacity; swimming season Apr 1–Nov 14): https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/blue-spring-state-park
- Blue Spring hours & fees ($6/vehicle 2–8 people, $4 single occupant, $2 pedestrian/bike): https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/blue-spring-state-park/hours-fees
- Blue Spring manatee page (one of the largest winter gathering sites; manatees can’t tolerate <68°F long; 1/3-mile boardwalk): https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/blue-spring-state-park/manatees-blue-spring-state-park
- Blue Spring experiences/amenities (manatee season Nov 15–Mar 31; water activities closed): https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/blue-spring-state-park/experiences-amenities
- Blue Spring day-use reservation FAQ (required from July 15, 2026 for everyone; up to 60 days ahead; same-day if available; one entry; barcode receipt): https://www.floridastateparks.org/learn/frequently-asked-questions-blue-spring-day-use
- FWC: where to see manatees (Merritt Island NWR platform at Haulover Canal, 321-861-0667, entrance fee; call ahead; watch from a distance with binoculars; manatees disperse in warm weather): https://myfwc.com/education/wildlife/manatee/where-to-see/
- USFWS Merritt Island NWR wildlife watching (Manatee Observation Deck is handicap accessible): https://www.fws.gov/refuge/merritt-island/visit-us/activities/wildlife-watching
- Wekiwa Springs SP ($6; day-use reservations required): https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/wekiwa-springs-state-park
- De Leon Springs SP (boat tours suspended since Sept 30, 2026, because of flooding): https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/de-leon-springs-state-park
- Canaveral National Seashore (NPS; $25/vehicle for 7 days, $20 motorcycle, $15/person; 6 a.m.–6 p.m. from Nov 1, 6 a.m.–8 p.m. during DST; last entry earlier; Apollo via A1A, Playalinda via Titusville; Apollo Beach Visitor Center 386-428-3384): https://www.nps.gov/cana (data read through the public NPS API, developer.nps.gov, because the page renders with JS)
Attractions (Ponce Inlet / NSB)
- Ponce de Leon Inlet Lighthouse hours (Sept 8, 2026–May 30, 2027: daily 10–6, last admission 5; closed Thanksgiving and Christmas; part of gallery deck closed for restoration): https://www.ponceinlet.org/plan-your-visit/hours-of-operation/ · 175 ft, 203 steps, tallest in FL: https://www.ponceinlet.org/
- Marine Science Center (Tue–Sat 10–4, Sun 12–4, closed Mon, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s; adults $8, seniors 50+ $7, 3–12 $5, 2 and under free, U.S. veterans free; seabird and sea turtle rehab): https://www.marinesciencecenter.com/visit/hours-admission.stml · https://www.marinesciencecenter.com/
- Smyrna Dunes Park (2+ mi boardwalk): https://www.volusia.org/services/public-works/coastal-division/coastal-parks/smyrna-dunes-park.stml
- Lighthouse Point Park: https://www.volusia.org/services/public-works/coastal-division/coastal-parks/lighthouse-point-park.stml
- Sugar Mill Ruins (600 Mission Dr., free, sunrise–sunset): https://www.volusia.org/services/community-services/parks-recreation-and-culture/parks-and-trails/park-facilities-and-locations/historical-parks/sugar-mill-ruins.stml
Race week / Bike Week / rallies
- DIS 2027 schedule release (Clash Feb 13; Qualifying Feb 17; Duels Feb 18; Trucks Feb 19; ARCA + O’Reilly Feb 20; 69th DAYTONA 500 Feb 21; Full Throttle Festival Feb 20 at Ocean Center): https://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/2026/08/04/the-clash-preseason-nascar-cup-series-race-returns-to-world-center-of-racing-for-2027/
- DIS 2027 DAYTONA 500 date: https://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/2025/10/22/daytona-international-speedway-announces-2027-daytona-500-date/
- NASCAR 2027 schedule: https://www.nascar.com/news-media/2026/08/26/2027-nascar-schedule-confirmed-dates-tracks-for-all-three-national-series/
- DIS Fan Guide (2 bags at 18x18x14; one soft cooler at 14x14x14; no hard coolers, glass, umbrellas, collapsible chairs, wagons, drones, selfie sticks or dry ice; outside food and alcohol OK with no glass; 64-oz insulated cups; re-entry with scan; cashless; mobile tickets via NASCAR Tracks App 30 days out; free parking for most events; WNDB 1150 AM / 93.5 FM; exits can take 60+ min, so wait 30–45 min; earplugs; 1-800-PITSHOP): https://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/fanguide/
- DIS Directions & Parking: https://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/directions-and-parking/
- Daytona Beach CVB, Bike Week (86th, Mar 5–14, 2027; areas; Daytona Regional Chamber 386-255-0981; OfficialBikeWeek.com): https://www.daytonabeach.com/bike-week/
- Official Bike Week: https://officialbikeweek.com/
- DIS Bike Week (Supercross Mar 6; Short Track Mar 10–11; DAYTONA 200 weekend Mar 11–13): https://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/events/bike-week/
- DIS DAYTONA 200 (85th running, Sat Mar 13, 2027): https://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/events/daytona-200/
- FLHSMV helmet exemption (21+ and at least $10,000 medical insurance): https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/motorcycle-rider-education-endorsements/helmet-exemption/
- Florida Statute 316.211 (helmets / eye protection): https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2026/316.211
- Fall rally, Oct 14–17, 2027: https://www.daytonabeach.com/biketoberfest/faq/
Hurricane prep (Volusia / Florida / federal)
- Volusia Emergency Management (386-254-1500): https://www.volusia.org/services/emergency-services/emergency-management/
- Volusia hurricane hub + Citizens Information Center 866-345-0345 (active only during disasters): https://www.volusia.org/hurricane/
- AlertVolusia: https://www.volusia.org/alertvolusia
- Volusia shelter information: https://www.volusia.org/services/public-protection/emergency-management/get-prepared/shelter-information.stml
- Volusia pet planning: https://www.volusia.org/services/public-protection/emergency-management/get-prepared/pet-planning.stml
- Volusia guidance for individuals with disabilities (Votran evacuation transport): https://www.volusia.org/services/emergency-services/emergency-management/emergency-guidance-for-Individuals-with-disabilities-1.stml
- Know Your Zone: https://www.floridadisaster.org/knowyourzone/
- Florida disaster supply checklist (1 gal/person/day, 7 days): https://www.floridadisaster.org/contentassets/329b22e6379444f1938b066bf10e4a58/disaster-checklist.pdf
- Florida Special Needs Registry: https://snr.flhealthresponse.com/
- s. 252.358 F.S. (early prescription refills): https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2026/252.358
- NFIP 30-day waiting period: https://www.floodsmart.gov/get-insured/buy-a-policy
- CDC generator / carbon monoxide guidance (20 ft): https://www.cdc.gov/carbon-monoxide/about/index.html
- Florida DFS insurance helpline 1-877-693-5236: https://myfloridacfo.com/division/consumers/storm/resources
- DBPR unlicensed activity hotline 1-866-532-1440: https://www2.myfloridalicense.com/unlicensed-activity/
- FPL outages 1-800-468-8243: https://www.fpl.com/support/report-concerns.html
- Duke Energy outages 800-228-8485: https://www.duke-energy.com/outages/restoring-your-power
Snowbird / seniors
- UF/IFAS “Closing Your Seasonal Home” (no higher than 85°F; RH below 65%): https://ask.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/HE887
- USPS temporary forwarding (up to 364 days): https://faq.usps.com/articles/Knowledge/Change-of-Address-The-Basics
- Elder Helpline 1-800-963-5337: https://elderaffairs.org/about-us/elder-helpline-1-800-963-5337/
- SHINE (Volusia): https://www.floridashine.org/Counseling-Sites/Volusia.aspx
- Volusia County Public Library (14 branches): https://www.volusialibrary.org/hours-and-locations/
- Votran / VoAccess 386-761-7700: https://www.votran.org/riding-votran/index.stml
Orlando beach day trips
- Daytona Beach CVB (Orlando 54 mi, about 1 hr): https://www.daytonabeach.com/
- VISIT FLORIDA Cocoa Beach guide (Cocoa Beach 60–65 mi, about 1 hr from Orlando): https://www.visitflorida.com/travel-ideas/articles/beach-guide-cocoa-beach/
- OSRM routing estimates from downtown Orlando (free-flow; Daytona 72 min / 58 mi; NSB 72 / 57; Cocoa Beach 70 / 56; KSC 68 / 47; Blue Spring 53 / 36): https://router.project-osrm.org
- City of Cocoa Beach parking ($6/hr with 1-hr minimum or $25/day; Passport Parking; enforced 7 a.m.–7 p.m.): https://cityofcocoabeach.com/185/Parking-in-Cocoa-Beach
- Lori Wilson Park (free parking, restrooms, playground, boardwalk, seasonal lifeguards): https://www.brevardfl.gov/ParksAndRecreation/ParkDirectory/LoriWilsonPark
- Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex (opens 9 a.m.; closed Thanksgiving and Christmas): https://www.kennedyspacecenter.com
November 2026 events (freebie)
- Daytona Turkey Run, 53rd (Nov 25–29 at DIS; Wed–Sat 8–4, Sun 8–2; $21/day; 11 and under free; free spectator parking; 5,000+ show cars; 2,000+ swap vendors). Note: daytonabeach.com still showed older prices, so the official site is used: https://www.turkeyrun.com/
- Halifax Art Festival, 64th (Nov 7 10–5, Nov 8 10–4; Beach St between Bay St and Orange Ave): https://halifaxartfestival.com/ (also listed on daytonabeach.com events)
- Daytona Beach Greek Festival, 49th (Nov 12–15; St. Demetrios, 129 N. Halifax Ave.; Thu–Sat 11–9, Sun 11–6; free parking and shuttle): https://www.greekfestivaldaytonabeach.com/
- Visit NSB events (A Taste for the Arts Nov 5, 5:30–8:30, Brannon Center; Florida Surf Film Festival Nov 6–7, Brannon Center; Canal Street First Saturday Nov 7; NSB Veterans Day Celebration Nov 11, 11 a.m., Brannon Center; Coastal Cleanup Nov 18, 9 a.m., 27th Ave Beachfront Park; NSB Farmers Market Saturdays 7–noon, 210 Sams Ave): https://www.visitnsbfl.com/events
- Fall Fiesta in the Park, 55th (Nov 7–8, 10–5, Lake Eola Park; free; family- and pet-friendly): https://www.orlando.gov/Events/2026-Fall-Fiesta-in-the-Park
- Winter Park Autumn Art Festival, 53rd (Nov 14–15, 9–5, Central Park, Winter Park; Florida artists only; no pets in Central Park; Park Ave closed Lyman to Canton): https://www.winterpark.org/aaf-plan-your-weekend/ · https://www.winterpark.org/aaf-home-page/
- EPCOT International Food & Wine Festival (Aug 27–Nov 21, 2026; included with EPCOT admission): https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/events-tours/epcot/epcot-international-food-and-wine-festival/
Researched but NOT used (couldn’t verify from an official source)
- Ormond Beach Riverfest Seafood Festival (search summary only)
- NSB “Rock & Roll” festival and “Flamingo Follies” (not confirmed)
- Flagler Avenue Wine Walk November date (monthly event; date not confirmed)
- Pacetti Hotel Museum Friday tours (venue and location not confirmed)
- Halifax Art Festival “free admission” (not stated on the official page)
- Greek Festival admission price (not stated)
- Winter Park Autumn Art Festival admission (not stated on the official page)
- Visit NSB “$20 per day” beach fee on place cards (stale; county page says $30)
- Exact Daytona-to-Blue Spring drive time